ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) a best practice framework that has incepted in 1980’s which was initially called as “GITIM”. In the late 1980’s (1989-1995), the UK government’s CCTA (Central Computer Telecommunications Agency) and OGC (Office of Government and Commerce) developed the best practices framework called ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) with 31 books describing the common IT activities and the best practices, consulting the top-notch companies like IBM, HP, CA, etc.


In 2001, ITIL v2 was released with 7 books, but the emphasis was primarily on Service Support and Service Delivery books. The other five books focused on operational guidance for:

  1. ICT Infrastructure management
  2. Security management
  3. Application management
  4. Software asset management
  5. Planning to implement service management (for implementing ITIL practices)

ITIL v2 Service Support had the below mentioned processes and one function.

  1. Service desk (Function)
  2. Incident management
  3. Problem management
  4. Change management
  5. Release management
  6. Configuration management

The above-mentioned processes and function (Incident management, Problem management, Change management, Release management, Configuration management and Service desk), were placed in Service Support because the interactions with service desk, incidents, problems, changes, releases and updates to configurations would have happen very frequently as operational activities.

ITIL v2 Service Delivery had the below mentioned processes.

  1. Availability management
  2. Financial management
  3. Service level management
  4. Service continuity management
  5. Capacity management

The above-mentioned processes (Availability management, Financial management, Service Level management, Service Continuity management, Capacity management), were placed in Service Delivery because these activities wouldn’t happen every day as operational activities. To elaborate more, IT management will not define availability plans, capacity plans, SLA’s, continuity plans, and budgets every day. These activities were considered as activities that would be done once in a quarter or half yearly or yearly, hence these activities were considered as activities with long-term focus and were placed in service delivery.

ITIL V3 2007

In 2007, OGC and CCTA developed the third version of ITIL v3 in life-cycle based approach, defining it in five phases:

  1. Service Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operations
  5. Continual Service Improvement

Service Strategy process area’s focus was to develop service management as strategic assets and organizational capabilities (defining service quality, creating value, differentiating from competing alternatives, etc.)

Service Design process area’s focus was to design and develop services and service management processes converting strategic objectives into portfolios of services and service assets (developing Service Acceptance Criteria, architecture, etc.)

Service Transition process area’s focus was to develop and improve capabilities for transitioning new and changed services into operations.

Service Operations process area’s focus was to manage a service in day to day operations (achieve effectiveness and efficiency, maintain stability, etc). Service operations process area has four functions Service Desk, Application management, Technical management and IT Operations management.

Continual Service Improvement process area’s focus was to improve process effectiveness, efficiency and cost effectiveness.

ITIL V3 2011

In ITIL 2011, there were some minor revisions and updates made to the ITIL v3 which included some new processes like Strategy Management for IT Services, Business relationship management, Design coordination, and Change evaluation. Also, there were many more minor changes in other processes and functions which is quite exhaustive.

In 2013, ITIL has been owned by AXELOS, a joint venture between CAPITA and the UK cabinet office.

ITIL® 4 2019

In February 2019, Axelos has released the fourth version of ITIL providing a practical and flexible transition that allows organizations to adopt the new ways of working required by the modern digital world.

The current version, ITIL® 4 provides much greater focus on value delivery, customer experience, digital transformation, and governance with the help of:

  • Service Value System and Service value chain
  • Four Dimension Model
  • 34 practices (14 General management practices, 17 Service management practices, and 3 Technical management practices)
General management practicesService management practicesTechnical management practices
Architecture managementAvailability managementDeployment management
Continual ImprovementBusiness AnalysisInfrastructure & platform management
Information security managementCapacity & Performance managementSoftware development and management
Knowledge managementChange control 
Measurement and reportingIncident management 
Organizational change managementIT Asset management 
Portfolio managementMonitoring & event management 
Project managementProblem management 
Relationship managementRelease management 
Risk managementService catalogue management 
Service Financial ManagementService configuration management 
Strategy managementService continuity management 
Supplier managementService Design 
Workforce & talent managementService desk 
 Service Level management 
 Service request management 

Get your new ITIL 4 Foundation Certificate today, to digitally transform your organization.

1 World Training is Associated with PeopleCert & offers:

ITIL Foundation https://www.1worldtraining.com/courses/itil-4-foundation-official-peoplecert-certification/

Prince2 Foundation https://www.1worldtraining.com/courses/prince2-foundation-official-peoplecert-certification/

Prince2 Practitioner https://www.1worldtraining.com/courses/prince2-practitioner-official-peoplecert-certification/

prince2 Foundation and Practitioner https://www.1worldtraining.com/courses/prince2-foundation-and-practitioner-certification/

Project Management Professional PMP https://www.1worldtraining.com/courses/project-management-professional-pmp-certification-training/

Devops Foundationhttps://www.1worldtraining.com/courses/devops-fundamentals-official-peoplecert-certification/

Devops Leadership https://www.1worldtraining.com/courses/devops-leadership-official-peoplecert-certification/

For all your Queries, please email: info@1worldtraining.com